SSH dangerous?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by robben10, Mar 26, 2010.

  1. robben10

    robben10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Well I've been hearing things about SSH and I wanna know is it dangerous? can it mess up your Ipod or something?

    And I think what it does is that it connects your computer to the ipod... that's all I know, can i get a more clear description of what it does?
  2. studangerous

    studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    In a nutshell it uses the Secure Shell protocol to allow wireless connection and browsing of your iDevices filesystem from your computer. It's only 'dangerous' if you play around with files inside tour iDevice without knowing what you are doing (though and major issues just require a DFU restore to get your iDevice back to factory settings). Note that SSH leaves your iDevice open so you should change the root password from alpine to something else to prevent anyone hacking you.
  3. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    just don't mess with files that you have know idea what they do.
  4. robben10

    robben10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Kk thanks guys.
  5. xinzhitan14

    xinzhitan14 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Also if you're using SSH, make sure you change your root password for your ipod/iphone. That would be the main security issue as nobody remembers to change the system pw. you can do this in terminal by going

    "passwd root"
  6. Code Name_Raven

    Code Name_Raven Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Actually, just type
    Code:
    passwd
    then, your old password (alpine) then your new one twice.
  7. Cursayer

    Cursayer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Why can't I type in terminal?

    I keep trying to type on the ipod keyboard but nothing shows up
  8. xinzhitan14

    xinzhitan14 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    that's normal. just carefully type your password twice. it should work.

    believe it or not, but passwd root works as well.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. robben10

    robben10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    The only way to change application icons is by SSH? or is there another way?
  10. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S

Share This Page