SSH = bad

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.4 Discussions' started by jchaike, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. jchaike

    jchaike Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    okay so i dont use SSH much, but when I do, its just not working. I have reset my router, restart (just turn off turn back on) my iPod, changed port numbers, changed password from alpine to something else, i just cant get 1.1.4 to work with SSH. what can i do?

    I have open SSH i have BSD sub system I have services to turn on SSH, and everything ughh annoying ==[[[[[[

    is there a way i can just ssh through usb?
  2. cameleon1267

    cameleon1267 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    are you using mac or windows ? and what kind of error do you get ?
  3. MrBrightside

    MrBrightside Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    18
    I was exactly the same. To make it work, i uninstalled everything to do with SSH on my Touch like open SSH, and bossprefs and then installed bossprefs then open ssh. Then started working finally
  4. jchaike

    jchaike Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    windows; no error message, just unable to connect through SSH...ive tried iPhone Browser but its not what i need--i need full access to that partition of my iPod (im using 16gb 1.1.4 ZIPHONE not the new 2.6 jailbroken ipod.
  5. htrapz

    htrapz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    ummm... try creating a SFTP connection instead of a FTP connection
  6. bklynsoulja

    bklynsoulja New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had the same problem when i jailbroke 1.1.4 yesterday but i solved it by just jailbreaking it again without restoring using ziphone2.6b all u do is click on the jailbreak touch button again and u should have ur apps still installed it did for me but no music or saved prefs will be there
  7. apple123

    apple123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes, there is. Use the T-PoT plugin for TotalCommander.
  8. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I don't think that gives full access though, it does the same thing as iPhoneBrowser for me.

    Anyways, try uninstalling openssh and reinstalling bsdsubsystem. then reinstall openssh.

    Also, what program are you using?
  9. MrBrightside

    MrBrightside Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yeah i think uninstalling and reinstalling a few things is the best thing
  10. jchaike

    jchaike Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I'll save that as my second to last resort--my last one will be re-jailbreaking

    I am using Win SCP

    I always use SFTP =P

    will use as a last resort, just incase

    Thank you for all of your responses!

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    ----------------------------------
    Also:
    I am having problems with Wi-Fi. I have a wireless B built into my laptop, and I can get perfectly fine internet, but when I try connected with my iPod I get the Unable to join the network error. Sometimes the networks wont even show up =[

Share This Page