Sources take forever to refresh!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by fty07, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. fty07

    fty07 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I havent been able to get into installer since xmas, because the sources take forever to refresh.

    I think that it might have been because added a lot of new source but now i cant get pass the refresh screen to delete some.

    any ideas? and since i have been out of the loop for a while what are some must have new applications out?

    thanks!
  2. edoras

    edoras New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been experiencing this too. How long did you wait? As for me, I will let it refresh for more than 5 or 10 minutes.
  3. Flagpole

    Flagpole Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    well if you have a lot of sources it can take up to a couple of minutes if you have a decent wifi connection. it shouldnt hang much longer than that, even if you have all of the shources available. just try giving it time and letting it site for a few minutes. try getting as close to your wifi source as posible if you want it to go faster.
  4. fty07

    fty07 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have let it by itself for upwards of 30 mins to 1 hours, sitting on top of the wifi.

    I'm trying it again right now, and ill let you guys know what happens.

    Sometimes the status bar doesnt even move for the whole time.

    Edit: my wifi is decent I can download at speeds around 1.1 mbps
  5. DerekVOF

    DerekVOF Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    If you need to get in to delete sources, it's actually easy - just turn off Wi-Fi. The refresh should quickly time out and you can delete whichever ones you think are problematic...

    Alternately, you can SFTP into ~/Library/Installer and edit the PackageSources.plist... You'd need to delete everything between the <dict></dict> tags...

    But the first method is easier...
  6. Juwilz

    Juwilz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes like i forget the username, but he said that it depends on how many Sources you have. Mine takes about 2 minutes or so.

Share This Page