Someone Clarify Tethering?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by frnkyn, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. frnkyn

    frnkyn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I have a 32gb touch.

    After blackra1ning once, once i shut it off and turn it on again, do I hav to reconnect to my computer to rejailbreak or will it jailbreak automatically by itself once i turn it back on?
  2. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,023
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    It will stay jailbroken. All you have to do is connect it to your PC and run blackra1n again to turn it on. All you information will stay the same.
  3. xinzhitan14

    xinzhitan14 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    far out, how many forum noobs want to make the exact same thread.

    Tethering has already been clarified in this thread.
    http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=254257

    should do a search next time... some of the information is right before your eyes.
  4. j70LAR_J3EAR

    j70LAR_J3EAR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    be carfull tho on what u install using cydia
  5. SoBe

    SoBe Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    this.
  6. 4NewHop3

    4NewHop3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,444
    Likes Received:
    706
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    ^ This.

    and ^ That.
  7. Ubeans2001

    Ubeans2001 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    lol....


    Also I have a question too, how come now the 2G iPod is now full on Jailbreak and there's no need for tethering and the 3G is just like the 2G was last year when the jailbreak was released??? Does apple encode something that makes the new iPod have the need to be tethered when jailbroken?
  8. xinzhitan14

    xinzhitan14 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I think its because apple made a modifcation to the iBoot which means you cant write the commands to the ipod touch to automatically run upon boot up. In this case, the blackra1n.exe contains the necessary commands to jailbreak and allow your device to bootup properly when jailbroken. Since you now cannot write the commands to the device, it's tethered so you'll need to run the exe to allow it to boot properly.

Share This Page