some Q about jail breaking with iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kingkira, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. kingkira

    kingkira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have jailbreaked my old ipt2g and i always full restored before doing any jailbreak cause well someone said its more safe that way.

    so now i have an iphone4 and i don't wanna lose my contacts so can someone explain what i should do D:?!

    like lets sayi have it jailbreaked btu i want to update it does that mean ihave to restore then update?

    and can i jb my 4.1 and still keep my contacts?
  2. Lux2GS

    Lux2GS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    138
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Make a backup, then do a full restore to a clean 4.1 - Then Jailbreak with limera1n or wait for greenpois0n.
  3. kingkira

    kingkira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you make a backup?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    wait if i make a back up i dont' i still have to readd all my contacts o.o? cause i'm full restoring?
  4. Lux2GS

    Lux2GS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    138
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    on the left bar in iTunes, right click your device and select "Backup"
  5. kingkira

    kingkira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    wait if i make a back up i dont' i still have to readd all my contacts o.o? cause i'm full restoring?
  6. Lux2GS

    Lux2GS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    138
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    no. The backup should normally include contacts.
  7. kingkira

    kingkira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm confused still

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    so i backup
    then restore to 4.1 ---- wouldn't that take out my contacts?
  8. Lux2GS

    Lux2GS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    138
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    the restoring takes it out. When its finished restoring it will tell you "There is a backup available! Do you want to use the backup or start a new device?" Then just select the backup. (It contains your contacts and settings)
  9. kingkira

    kingkira New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    ohh cool does this include apps? and stuff?
  10. studangerous

    studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Set your contacts to be synced with Outlook or whatever in iTunes then sync with itunes to back up. After your restore it will ask you if you want to set it up from the back up or as a new device. Choose from the backup.

Share This Page