So WHY don't we have disk space anymore?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by synagence, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. synagence

    synagence New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    I understand and have done the bostools things following 1.1.3JB and have things up and running

    I did the jailbreak about 4 times before the news got out about the limited disk space and thought i was going mental and doing it wrong....

    So that asside..... do we know WHY we don't have our normal filesystem capacity and freespace?

    Is 1.1.3 THAT much bigger or have we lost some space due to a JB problem?

    Seems strange that we have gone from around 80mb free on 1.1.2 to ~2mb free on 1.1.3
  2. kappatango

    kappatango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    6
    Its one of two things:

    A sloppy Firmware Build by APPLE
    or
    A bug in the 1.1.3 Jailbreak.

    My money is on Apple for the blame.
  3. mjhamilton

    mjhamilton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    just struck me.... Apple released the new firmware with the apps already installed.. you just needed a key file to unlock them and make them function.. I am guessing that they are now going to make the firmware slice just a fraction larger than the os install and if they add more apps then they will release those with a new firmware and grow the slice accordingly...

    Bosstool 3.5 fixed all my problems and now I am very happy again... 1.1.3 with my purchased $20 app pack and the things I was missing on the basic 1.1.3
  4. kappatango

    kappatango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    6
    yeah I wondered of The App Pack is to blame..... as it sits in /Applications folder.

    On a fresh 1.1.3 Jb I only had 21 MB free

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    EDIT : Removed typo, I had stated 279 MB free, that should have been used.
  5. drakness

    drakness New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    i have 20mb free out of 279 XD
    and that was only after installing bosstools.
  6. kappatango

    kappatango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    6
    MY BAD - I meant I had 279mb used

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    , so 21 free
  7. mjhamilton

    mjhamilton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    look again.. if you have 279mb used then you have 1mb free.. the total partition is 280mb.. do a df -h on a ssh session and you will see...

    the old slice used to be 300mb.. or is this just me??
  8. kappatango

    kappatango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok, I was basing it on the old 300MB limit - didnt know it had been reduced further.
  9. asnamara

    asnamara New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its not the firmware...

    Its the damn jailbreak.

    There wasnt that problem on Nate's jailbreak with an ipod firmware.

    Pretty crappy communication on the subject.. and a major oversight if you ask me.
    Totally pointless to jailbreak with no space.

    Someone please sort this out

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. kappatango

    kappatango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    6
    Um, boss Tools sorts it out.

Share This Page