iOS 3.1 So something awesome just happend!

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Sickfee49, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. Sickfee49

    Sickfee49 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I finally decided to upgrade from my 3.0 to 3.1.2 and re-jailbreak. I didnt want to lose any of my stuff so i used itunes to update and it worked fine.( But ofcorse got rid of the jailbreak ) Then i used Blackrain to jailbreak it. This is where the awesome part happens. Since all my settings were backed up, after i got cydia and installed everything it worked fine.

    Now every one knows blackrain is tetherd, wich meens it requires a re-jailbreak on power up, but for some reason, when i power mine down then back up, there is no jailbreak required. It works fine.

    It might be because i updated it while it was jailbroken or something but im really happy with it. Let me know if any one else has the same thing going on or can tell me why it happens this way
  2. JIMIneitor

    JIMIneitor Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    maybe because youre using a 2G ipod and that has already been untethered, but the weird thing is you kept everything, didnt you use aptbackup or something
  3. brendanm

    brendanm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    This just might be the lead to an un-tethered jailbreak... For all users.
  4. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    .... No, he's using a 2G.. notice how he's upgrading from 3.0? 3G iPod Touches come with 3.1.1/3.1.2.
  5. brendanm

    brendanm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    My apology. I thought this was in the 3G section...
  6. Sickfee49

    Sickfee49 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    No i didn't use apt backup, what happened was when i download SBsettings It kept everything i had integrated into it, Poof, categories, ect... and applied all my previous settings. Im pretty sure its because it was already untethered with the 3.0 Jail break
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I should have mentioned this, but it takes about 60 seconds to boot up, idk if thats normal
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I will upload a video in a few mins, like 30 or so
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Q9ONeM5rD8
    There it is
  7. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Your on a 2gen. All ipods are untethered. But the 3rd gen ones. There tethered.
  8. sam_rock

    sam_rock Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    34
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    He has the same story as mine. Upgraded jailbroken 3.0 on 2G to 3.1.2 and restore from backup. The backup even restored the numeric battery even before I jailbreak which SBSettings did. I guess SBSettings is backed up with iTunes backup. Since poof requires libhide from Cydia it may not have worked and only numeric battery did. since 2G is untethered, all was fine for me. If even ur Cydia was backed up without AptBackup then u r lucky. I downloaded most of my Cydia apps on pc so that I can install them using SSH without WIFI. wat happened to u had happened to me when Blackra1n was launched. I guess you are not the only one!
  9. Sickfee49

    Sickfee49 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    hmm didnt know that

Share This Page