Snow Leopard on a PC

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by Tkf1, May 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    I want to put Snow Leopard on my computer. I have a Dell Inspiron 6400.

    CPU-Z says my SSE is (1,2,3). Can I run all 3? Because I need SSE3 or Snow Leopard.

    My specs are:
    1gb ram or 512 (not sure?)
    IntelĀ® CoreTM 2 Duo Processor T5600
    (1.83GHz/667MHz FSB/2MB L2 Cache)
    64mb Graphic card
    160gb HD.


    Can I run it? I have the Disc for it.
  2. MrDodi

    MrDodi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    You could yes,
    but your graphic card is very low.
    I would suggest you to get better performance, use iDeneb 1.6 wich is a distro for Leopard 10.5.8

    You wont get a good experience at SnowLeo with your graphic card. and your ram is also very low. 2 would be minimum.
  3. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Dam. What would be the minimal graphic card for Snow? 256mb? Because they are expensive.
  4. JacobVengeance

    JacobVengeance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,697
    Likes Received:
    96
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    I ran Snow Leopard on 256MB, but it still would not run graphics very well. I would suggest 512MB, but that would cost a lot. Dell's are not very good running OSX. I run Ubuntu Linux and then run it in Virtualbox now. It seems to work a little better for me that way.
  5. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Thanks guys.

    I'll stick with Windows 7 right now.
  6. MrDodi

    MrDodi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Well since SnowLeopard is just using OpenGL and OpenCL a 265mb Graphiccard is fine , it also works for "good quality" games like, World of Warcraft, or Call of Duty. But you have a 64mb Graphicscard and that is way to low for snowleo, and also your low ram , and not the best processor. So you should stick with Leopard if you really wants a OSX on your HDD.
  7. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    you could buy an nvidia 512mb 9400gt for very few money, and it is natively supported on mac osx, we are talking about $30/40
  8. MrDodi

    MrDodi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    right, its not a high end card, and normaly its passive cooled. But its a usefull card for macosx . And you should also be able to play mac games, not on high res. but atleast on med res

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    It's not just the graphics card's memory, but the model as well. If you don't have a supported graphics card then it's a pain to get a nice resolution

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yeah. I recently installed Snow Leopard and most of my stuff works. The only things not working are my graphics card, wifi, and I don't get USB 2.0 speeds. Since I have a wireless adapter, all I do is boot into 32-bit mode so my drivers will actually work.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page