iPod touch 5G [Siri] Dictation Question

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Zyiros, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. Zyiros

    Zyiros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    17,568
    Likes Received:
    4,494
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    I am now using my [Siri] dictation feature for taking notes. I saved myself an hour and a half yesterday taking notes and then emailing them to my laptop :D

    So question: why does [Siri] dictation need an internet connection to work?? Does the iPad need an internet connection for it to work or can the iPad do it without the connection?
  2. ValleyForge

    ValleyForge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,075
    Likes Received:
    2,064
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Lol, why the brackets now? Go to Settings > General > Keyboard and add an autocorrection from "Siri" to "Siri". This way it won't mess it up.
    Anyways, the files Siri uses for dictation are apparently just too much to be on-device. And Apple probably occasionally refines their accuracy and such. I believe the iPad is the same way.
  3. Zyiros

    Zyiros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    17,568
    Likes Received:
    4,494
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Dang. Oh well. That is too bad. :p

    I just put it in [] because I got it to say Siri, but some have a problem with calling it Siri Dictation because it isn't technically Siri Dictation. Thus it is like me saying it is (Siri) Dictation. Without the () it would just be Dictation, but the () provide a further explanation :p
  4. Badd_Blood

    Badd_Blood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10,598
    Likes Received:
    1,687
    It needs internet because what it does it record your voice, send it Apples servers, assigns words to the sound of the voice, and send it back to your device. All within seconds.
    ale624 likes this.
  5. ale624

    ale624 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    482
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    correct. your device sends live raw audio to apples servers as you speak it and they decode it and translate that into charitors!

    siri dictation is also in mountain lion.
  6. Zyiros

    Zyiros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    17,568
    Likes Received:
    4,494
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    I would rather have it on the device. Like...make it a premium thing for the 32GB and 64GB models.
  7. Badd_Blood

    Badd_Blood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10,598
    Likes Received:
    1,687
    That just.. would not work. Completely impractical
  8. rrroach

    rrroach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,941
    Likes Received:
    520
    It's definitely possible to have it done without a server. My guess is that it's a matter of Apple not wanting people to have access to the methods Siri uses to analyze voice.

    Edit: It's possible to translate the voice to text without a server. Obviously you wouldn't be able to use the functions like finding movie times or searching for things without a data connection.
  9. ale624

    ale624 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    482
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    if you turn off Siri, you get the old voice recognition. that works rather well... so why's it impractical?

    thats true also, but you can potentially Mod siri so it uses the onboard speech recognition instead of apples servers. i think it MAY have been done at some point in the past.
  10. Zyiros

    Zyiros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    17,568
    Likes Received:
    4,494
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    All I would want is the dictation to be offline use. I don't really care about Siri because it makes sense to have a connection to use Siri.

Share This Page