sipphone on ipod touch and iphone to work on any provider u wish

Discussion in 'iPod touch VoIP and Telephony' started by shawon8444, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. shawon8444

    shawon8444 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hope this helps to eveyone how to mod it
    if u have jailbreak ipod touch 1.2. that will be good cuz version 1.1.3 and 1.1.4 there saving problem i mean ur username and pass get deleted after u press the home button which is pain in the ass. U could manually put username and pass but too much work if u have more than one service provider.

    first add that source http://sip.free.fr/releases/rep.xml

    go freephonie and install it.

    then SSH ur ipod touch( i hope u know how to do it)

    go to <root> then "etc". click etc and find hosts file. open it

    you will see that below

    ##
    # Host Database
    #
    # localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
    # when the system is booting. Do not change this entry.
    ##
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
    ::1 localhost

    next u add at the end 194.120.0.198 freephonie.net just like that

    it should look like that

    ##
    # Host Database
    #
    # localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
    # when the system is booting. Do not change this entry.
    ##
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
    ::1 localhost
    194.120.0.198 freephonie.net

    save it.
    now go back to sipphone software put username and pass. leave the sip server as it is freephonie.com. it will work with any service provider such freecall, voipraider or voipwise, lowratevoip.

    if it helps gimme a HI5
  2. belfdog

    belfdog New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi shawon8444 .... Almost ready to give you a HI5 ... I've followed your directions above. I can dial out on my IPhone... the person answering can hear me, but I can not hear them. (This is the exact opposite issue I have when using SIP VOIP - I hear them, but they can not hear me - due to needing the sip - voip special mic for the IPHONE) Any Ideas?
  3. shawon8444

    shawon8444 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    u need to buy touchmod headset to talk to other person.
  4. solarseed

    solarseed New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI5

    yeah it works thanks!


    ilike the touchmods app, but the gui interface on this one is much nicer in my opinion.. wait i guess thats becuas eit looks like the original dialer.. maybe i jut feel safe becuase im used to it.. oh no...



    but anyway thanks a bunch ..


    do you think that the lag delay between talking will be minimize din future versions or is that just somethign that comes with voip?


    also , has anyone made any progress with the contacts menu to add contacts?
  5. belfdog

    belfdog New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. SMKOUT333

    SMKOUT333 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ?

    What is freedigits IP address? Ive tried 67.55.159.160 and it doesnt seem to work, thanks!
  7. ridax

    ridax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, it will work with the iPhone, but it will display a "not made for iPhone" message. Furthermore, I don't know why you would need the headset for the iPhone as the iPhone already comes with a headset included?
  8. nikojpapa

    nikojpapa New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    There's no ect

    I SSHed into my ipod and am in /var/root but there is no ect there. any help?

Share This Page