Siphon Facts

Discussion in 'iPod touch VoIP and Telephony' started by michael123, Mar 30, 2008.

  1. michael123

    michael123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    hi i have an apple iphone and today i saw the app siphon so i decided to download it
    but i have no clue how to set it up i have searched and i dont really understand it so would someone be able to give me simple steps??

    rep to anyone that helps
  2. michael123

    michael123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    bump...anyone going to help???
  3. Sparky1010

    Sparky1010 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    5
    Make sure you iphone is jailbroken.
    Install the app via SSh or Installer.
    Make an account on the site for the program.
    Open the program with your iphone, edit the settings with your username and password.
    Save the settings.
    Make a phone call and see if it works.
  4. michael123

    michael123 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    i downloaded it and that but what site???
  5. shawon8444

    shawon8444 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hope this helps to eveyone how to mod it
    if u have jailbreak ipod touch 1.2. that will be good cuz version 1.1.3 and 1.1.4 there saving problem i mean ur username and pass get deleted after u press the home button which is pain in the ass. U could manually put username and pass but too much work if u have more than one service provider.

    first add that source http://sip.free.fr/releases/rep.xml

    go freephonie and install it.

    then SSH ur ipod touch( i hope u know how to do it)

    go to <root> then "etc". click etc and find hosts file. open it

    you will see that below

    ##
    # Host Database
    #
    # localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
    # when the system is booting. Do not change this entry.
    ##
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
    ::1 localhost

    next u add at the end 194.120.0.198 freephonie.net just like that

    it should look like that

    ##
    # Host Database
    #
    # localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
    # when the system is booting. Do not change this entry.
    ##
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
    ::1 localhost
    194.120.0.198 freephonie.net

    save it.
    now go back to sipphone software put username and pass. leave the sip server as it is freephonie.com. it will work with any service provider such freecall, voipraider or voipwise, lowratevoip.

    if it helps gimme a HI5
  6. meloyo

    meloyo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    14
    i gave u rep but the only problem is....i cant hear the sounds like when it is rining without my headphones..why is that???
  7. meloyo

    meloyo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    14
    also now it says I have used up trial calls
    I can only hear with headphones and I can't talk to the person
  8. shawon8444

    shawon8444 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    forgot to mention it does not work on iphone. u need to buy headset from touchmods. I personally recommend not to buy it. just wait some other company will bring voip on iphone someday.
  9. meloyo

    meloyo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    14
    lol why did u mention it if it does not work on one?
  10. justit

    justit New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    better voice quality on siphone

    on touch it doesn't support dtmf (touch tones) for things like extensions directories so I have to use both

Share This Page