*Sigh* Jailbreak help...please? =D It worked before!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Protomole, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Protomole

    Protomole New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I had an old ipod, an Ipod Touch 2G 8GB. It got a little messed up sound wise. Jailbreak wise, it jailbreaked like an angel. When it broke, got it sent it, got myself a replacement last Sunday, another Ipod Touch 8GB, which I thought all were 2G's. When I jailbreak it now, it forces me to connect to the computer and re-blackra1n it every, single, time...

    Why is it tethered now, but the old one wasn't before? Did apple add some new protections to the new one? Should I use RC2 instead?

    Thanks in advance!
  2. NinetyFour

    NinetyFour Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Go to Settings>General>About and see if you iPod's serial number starts with MC. If it does, it can't be jailbroken. Sorry.
  3. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    it can and is jailbroken. just tethered.


    since the 8GB ipod is just an updated 2G apple sent you the 2.5G instead of the old 2G you had. your stuck with tethered sorry. if it was a 16GB or 32GB they would have gave you a 2G.
  4. ipodnanoinian

    ipodnanoinian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ^^^corrected^^^
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    ^^^CORRECTED^^^
    there is no such thing as the 2.5G. It is a 3G because it is rebranded it is not newly designed but it's sold as such and 2G would be model number MB. So yea PWN'D
  5. NinetyFour

    NinetyFour Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I think he mean 2.5G as in its not a 2G, but the 8 gb version isn't a 3g either.
  6. iptlolage123

    iptlolage123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yer hes saying it is basically a 2.5 g bcoz its not quite a 3g
  7. ipodnanoinian

    ipodnanoinian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    No it's just not a third gen as in the 32,64 units. It is still rebranded as the 3g wether you think it is or not.
  8. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    yea. its just easier to say 2.5G instead of "not the 2G or the 3G but the updated ipod"
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    apple just calls it a 2G. because thats all it is. but in jailbreak land there is a difference because it is tethered not untethered.

Share This Page