Should I Upgrade To Windows XP?

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by pickles, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. pickles

    pickles New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a very old Gateway PC. Specs are 192MB RAM, 128MB video card, 900MHz Processor, and it's a Pentium 3. Yeah it sucks I know. I'm currently running Windows 2000 Professional on it and I'm just wondering if I upgraded to Windows XP if it would run extremely slow? And if it'd be worth upgrading?
  2. SkaterGOD/DOOD23

    SkaterGOD/DOOD23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPod touch
    No, when I had XP and 256 MB RAM, it was SLOW!

    I have since then switched to FreeBSD which consumes about 13 MB of RAM on irssi, sendmail, sshd, bash, syslogd, etc.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. pickles

    pickles New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. Hmm. What about a Mac OS? I've heard about people installing Mac on a PC. Think any versions would work with my PC?
  4. ramospunk

    ramospunk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    it will be slow... my old pc i had xp and 112 mb ram
    it was crap
    you should just buy a new pc
  5. pickles

    pickles New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that's just my alternate computer to mess around with. We have a Dell Desktop with Windows XP, 2.5GB RAM, and 300GHz processor, and that's what I'm using now. But think a Mac OS would work?
  6. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    300GHZ!????
  7. Jikoo

    Jikoo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    0
    300GHz? You mean 3.00 right?
  8. pickles

    pickles New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. SkaterGOD/DOOD23

    SkaterGOD/DOOD23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPod touch
    LOL 300 GHz Processor.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Nah, Mac wouldn't work on less than 600+ MB RAM (that's only the interface, no applications!).

    EDIT: SMP (Symmetrical multiprocessing) = 300 GHz processor easily

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    It really depends on the processor. Which one is it? It has to support sse2 or something.

Share This Page