Should I upgrade my processor

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by ALECMM61, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. ALECMM61

    ALECMM61 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I have a core 2 duo 3.06 ghz processore in my desktop my mobo supports core 2 quad I liek to game but not really to much more than that i use my macbook for all my other stuff.

    here are my specs:

    intel e7600 core 2 duo processor
    xfx radeon HD 4850 (kickass card for the price)
    Asus p5q se plus

    So should i upgrade to a quad core i dont want to buy a whole new mobo just for the new i7 and i5s
  2. rokrboy

    rokrboy Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,475
    Likes Received:
    29
    Device:
    iPod touch
    If your willing to go i7, i would highly recommend it, but if not and ur mobo supports quad core, definitely go for it. Although the processor that you have is quite fast. Most things; applications dont use more than two cores tho.
  3. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    i'd say no for now. most programs really cant support 4 cores yet alone 2 cores. wait a little bit prices will go down and that processor will be put to good use.
  4. sambalayne

    sambalayne Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    for most games that more than enough power id stick with it until you get a new machine!
  5. jnskyliner34

    jnskyliner34 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    you'll need quad if you use apps for video editing and rendering as well as having other apps like photoshop run in the background. quads make rendering faster.

    if not, then stick to your core2duo.
  6. ALECMM61

    ALECMM61 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Thanks i think ill stick with my duo for now
  7. tgluak

    tgluak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Nope, overclock the 7300. Wait till new i7s Q1 next year
  8. TheConqueror

    TheConqueror New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Not yet, OC the hell out of that duo and it will last you for quite a while more

Share This Page