Should I swap or is this normal?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by solennial, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. solennial

    solennial New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    New ipod touch 32g 3g

    Coming from an ipod touch 2g 8 gig

    The old 8 gig didn't do this.

    If I turn the headphone plug in the jack, I get lots of static. That never happened on my 8 gig.

    Normal?

    To be clear, pluggin it in - no static, turn it a little - static

    Thanks

    280 is a whole lot for me, so I want to know if this could be a lemon.
  2. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    If you spin the headphone jack there will be static for any headphone. It's not a lemon.
  3. solennial

    solennial New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Never did it in the 8 gig - just tried again.

    One more question:

    I'm new to the headphones. I thought that center click paused. It doesn't do anything when I center click. If I hold it down I get voice control - but nothing with a center click, center double click, or triple click.

    I have to hold it down for a while, then the voice thing comes up.

    I really just want to pause - but I don't want to have to say 'pause music' outloud.
  4. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini

    Looks like your headphones are a lemon. Get them replaced at a Apple Store. It'll be free.
  5. solennial

    solennial New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Unfortuantly - no apple store within 100 miles. Back to wally world it goes.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Actually just got the bright idea to test the headphones in the 8 gig - they pause advance and all that as they should - won't do it in the 32 gig.

    Bad ipod


    Well crud - you can tell I'm in a stream of consciousness now - I hard reset the ipod and now the headphones work.

    Never had any issues with the 8 gig like this - normal?
  6. Torin_93

    Torin_93 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I wouldnt say so. Take it back. No harm in doing so.

Share This Page