Should I learn C before Objective-C?

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by iMicky, Aug 22, 2010.

1. iMicky

iMicky New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hey guys, so I'm a total beginner at any sort of programming. I do have some coding experience in HTML but I haven't written any actual scripts.

I want to start coding some apps for the iPhone and possibly Mac OS X and I'm willing to learn, but I'm unsure where to start. I've bought a book on Objective-C and have been reading it over the past few days, but the book is very poorly written and I'm having a hard time understanding the more complicated stuff - despite the book being aimed at beginners like myself.

I have heard that I'd be better starting with C and then going on to apply that knowledge in Objective-C, but before I do that I was wondering if that would in fact be the best course of action.
    I could end up sounding like a total noob to you guys, but we all have to start somewhere I guess...

Please Register or Log in to view images

2. TechnoEagle

TechnoEagle Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I think that learning C first would be very helpful. Once you feel comfortable with C, then I would look at Apress's Beginning iPhone 3 Development: Exploring the SDK. I used an older version of this book (made for iOS 2.2.1) when learning Objective-C and it was very helpful.
  3. iMicky

iMicky New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Okay, thanks. I've been doing a little more reading online and that does seem to be the suggestion most people give if you are completely new to Apple programming.

I've been considering that book but I was unsure whether I should get one covering the actual Objective-C language and then an iPhone SDK specific one. Does it cover the language well enough or do you think I would be better off buying separate ones?

Thanks.

4. TechnoEagle

TechnoEagle Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch