SHIFT + CLICK RESTORE isn't working in iTunes!!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch 2G Jailbreak: redsn0w, 24kpwn, etc.' started by kequila, Mar 15, 2009.

  1. kequila

    kequila New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm new here.... when I try to apply the custom firmware in iTunes by holding down shift then clicking on restore, I don't get a menu that gives me an option to pick the custom firmware. The menu that pops up is that same menu that would pop up as if I hadn't held down shift at all so the only choice I have is to restore to the iTunes firmware.... it sounds like such an idiot-proof concept but I don't know if I'm doing something wrong or what.... any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. jsook724

    jsook724 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    mac or windows?
  3. kequila

    kequila New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    windows vista 32
  4. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Hmm, it should work....
    I'm not sure, since it always works for me..
  5. josh0403

    josh0403 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Not sure if it matters, but which shift button are you pressing?
  6. kequila

    kequila New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried both shift buttons, the one under Caps and the one under enter but neither of them work. Is there maybe some other way in iTunes where I could pick to restore my ipod to custom firmware?
  7. NumbPL

    NumbPL New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe your shift button isn't working ?
  8. link433

    link433 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Seeing how his/her posts have caps in them, I'm guessing the shift key is working...

    Then agian, a temp CapsLock could work for that...

    You don't get a menu persay... it's an Open File dialog box... if all it's saying is "Contacting Apple Servers" or something like that... and starts to download the firmware, then let it get the firmware, install it, and then try again.

    make sure your on iTunes 8.1.0.51 (Help - About iTunes)
  9. kequila

    kequila New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh I forgot I haven't downloaded the most recent iTunes so that might be it!! It's a pain for me to update iTunes since my windows security freaks out and won't let me download stuff from the apple site since it supposedly has something wrong with it's security certificate, so I usually don't update right away. I actually thought of that possibility a while ago but it slipped my mind so I still hadn't got it. I'll try that and hope it works

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Thanks guys
  10. Chrisschulz

    Chrisschulz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I can restore on iTunes and I don't have the new one
    Who knows which one I'm on

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page