Set Up Your Ipod... I shouldn't have to!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by barbiegirl2000, Aug 9, 2009.

  1. barbiegirl2000

    barbiegirl2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have had my jailbroken 2nd gen Ipod Touch 16gb for about 6 months now and never has it done this. Tonight I downloaded an app on itunes. Plugged in my ipod to sync it but when I connected my ipod it asks me to setup my ipod, like it doesn't recognize it. Either I do a restore from a backup in which case I'm guessing I'll have to re-jailbreak? Or I setup a new Ipod. Does anyone know how to get around this? I have spent ages setting up my ipod just the way I like it and I don't want to have to spend hours fixing it up again. Any help is appreciated!!!
  2. iAppleGuru

    iAppleGuru Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Setting it up on iTunes wouldnt change any of your data.

    Just click Set Up As New iPod. It will do a little sync, then it will still have all your music and it wont change anything.

    Its just an iTunes Glitch.
  3. barbiegirl2000

    barbiegirl2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I thought setting up a new ipod would wipe all current data along with the jailbreak. Where as a restore would leave your current data on there but it would require you to re-jailbreak.
  4. iAppleGuru

    iAppleGuru Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Setting up your iPod is just an unneeded iTunes thing that will not do anything to your iPod.

    Just name your iPod, click Set Up As New, then it would bring you to the regular Summary screen, nothing would change.

    iTunes device memory probably got corrupted, but I assure you it wont wipe any data.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Basically, all it does is tell iTunes that it is either a new device, or an already-synced device.

    iTunes "forgot" about your iPod (corrupted data probably), so all it needs is a new name for it, then it will just read the data, and not wipe it.
  5. barbiegirl2000

    barbiegirl2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Alright thanks for your help iAppleGuru. I'll try setting up as a new Ipod when I get home.
  6. iAppleGuru

    iAppleGuru Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Great, good luck.
  7. barbiegirl2000

    barbiegirl2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Why was iAppleGuru banned? Do I trust what they've said now???
  8. Nathan B

    Nathan B Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    He was banned for multiple accounts, you can trust what he said

Share This Page