Set top margin to zero

Discussion in 'Site feedback, suggestions, and discussions' started by Axis, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    This must rank highly among insignificant suggestions, but I think it's valid.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    If you take a look at the iPod touch fans logo in the upper left; an actual look, not your usual subconscious glance, you'll notice a gap of about 5 pixels between the top of the logo and the "end of the site" aka your browser window.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Unless this margin exists for an architectural function, I don't know why it is there. Cutting off that margin is very simple, and shouldn't affect the ads or anything else for that matter (though I may be wrong; I didn't design this site).

    All that would be necessary (correct me if I am wrong) is:

    Code:
    body {
         margin-top:0;
    }
    added to whatever CSS file is utilized.

    __

    Click for a bigger view:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Once again, this is very trivial, but I think losing the top margin gives the site a subtly cleaner look.
  2. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    I completely disagree with you. I much prefer having a padding around whatever media I'm viewing. With no margin, it always seems that part of the content has been cut off. If there's some buffer, I know that it's all there.

    (I know, that sounded weird, it's hard to put into words)
  3. Chicken

    Chicken Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    It's not a margin problem, it's simply where the image stops.
  4. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    In that case, the image should fade to black. Right now, it abruptly cuts off. (Don't let my somewhat dramatic words fool you, I don't think this is a big deal, just a wee detail.)
  5. NeSEncHo

    NeSEncHo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no such gap =)

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I'd use Stylish to change it. (Firefox Only?)
    Code:
     @namespace url([URL="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml%29;"]http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml);[/URL]
    
    @-moz-document domain('www.ifans.com') {
    
    body {margin-top:0px !important;}
    
    }
    
  6. bgizzle

    bgizzle Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    543
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    thanks for bringing it to our attention, it was a small issue that i must've introduced sometime when i was changing the stylesheet , but i'm glad that it's fixed now.

Share This Page