seriously WTF? (wifi)

Discussion in 'Linux' started by weewoot, Oct 11, 2008.

  1. weewoot

    weewoot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    solved thanks for your help!!!!

    Please Register or Log in to view images




    two days ago i got my ubuntu hardy 64bit live cd. i installed it and got my video card working finnally. now im plugged into a wired connection, trying to get my wifi to work. my card shows up as Atheros AR242x 802.llabg. i cant get it to work with madwifi or ndiswrapper. im using wcid because i heard its better. alot of times in terminal when i try something it always ends with something about bad line and blacklist(something like that.)

    all i can say is WTF!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    can somebody please help me, i really like ubuntu and dont want to swtch back to xp or vista.

    thanks,
    weewoot
  2. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Wouldn't this be better on the ubuntu forums?
  3. weewoot

    weewoot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    this is the linux forms, and from my understanding ubuntu is a flavor of linux.
  4. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    What I mean is that the ubuntu forums are really active and helpful (from what I've seen), and could probably help you better there.
  5. weewoot

    weewoot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
  6. SkaterGOD/DOOD23

    SkaterGOD/DOOD23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPod touch
    In case you're wondering it's 802.11a/b/g compatible.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    You wrote to l's.

    In the meantime, I've been searching, and this is what has yielded (Run code in Italics in Terminal/Console):

    Worked for some people:
    Longer guide (if asked to run command in Terminal, type only the stuff in Italics - Stuff in Bold is output of command):

    Please refer to http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=Atheros AR242x 802.11 Ubuntu&btnG=Search for more help if this didn't help you.
  7. hakk79

    hakk79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,239
    Likes Received:
    60
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Wow man!
  8. weewoot

    weewoot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    trying that now, thank you for your help man!

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    ------------------double post merged------------------
    [at the part "Edit the file /etc/hosts and add "217.24.1.142 svn.madwifi.org" (without the quotes). I added it just after the 127.0.1.1 line" i get premision denied.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    i googled it and it said i have to use sudo to have superuser and root privaleges, but the thing is i cant find out how to edit or replace the file using command line. do you know how?
  9. SkaterGOD/DOOD23

    SkaterGOD/DOOD23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yes.

    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/hosts
  10. weewoot

    weewoot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    everything was working, my drivers were in use when i enabled them and restarted, but network manager still sees no network... i did sudo modprobe ath_pci but it says /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist line 40: ignoring bad line starting with '“blacklist'

    EDIT: ok so i removed line 40, my wireles networks are now dectected.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    but... when i enter my wep key it will not work, i tried all options for wep 128bit and 64bit but it wont work!!!!

    you have been a really good help, this is the last thing stopping me. i tied google, but it did not help.

Share This Page