Screen shots!

Discussion in 'Linux' started by you_kn0w, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. you_kn0w

    you_kn0w New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
  2. stabbyjoe12

    stabbyjoe12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    haha you managed to get compiz fusion working your well hardcore

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    id rethink the them youve got to white looks abit like windows 2000
    try a darker theme
    :/
  3. potroast32

    potroast32 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Andy Huang

    Andy Huang Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    That's not linux, that's Vista! *pukes*

    Here's mine:

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    (Click on it for larger image)

    Edit: The reason why the terminal window is translucent is because it is ALWAYS on top, on ALL screens, so I can monitor my other server (the one in first tab) without having to search for it; but I still need to see stuff behind it every now and then

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    And for anyone that needs to ask, the mac like dock is Avant Window Navigator. You need a composite desktop (IE: compize) to run it.
  5. kitren2

    kitren2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPod touch
  6. wibble

    wibble New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    But this is post your linux desktops. and is that the eclipse ide icon down in your dock andy? what's wrong with good ol' netbeans?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. Andy Huang

    Andy Huang Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Eclipse for Java, Eclipse for C/CPP, and Eclipse for PHP (Zend Studio for Eclipse).
    Netbeans is nice, but I don't do too much J2EE stuff to need it... I'm more a PHP / CPP person here

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. wibble

    wibble New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see, if you'll use eclipse mainly for cpp and php, why install another ide for just java. I haven't tried eclipse yet, but I've heard it's a nice ide. But for C/Cpp I always have to choose vc++6 (old school). then again, your on a linux distro.

    Hope I didn't go too astray off topic. I'll post a picture of me on backtrack next time I have it running.

    I'm more a java/c/cpp (C# is redundant in my opinion [vm on microsoft?]) person.

    (portal fan? They're still processing my application.)
  9. Andy Huang

    Andy Huang Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    The cake is a lie...

    I do java dev at times, too. Especially if I need to deploy things at where I can't compile C stuff at (IE: shared hosting housing repo source). Java is cross platform, so when I have the new spider coded, I can just drop the binary and update the cronjob on the server, and not have to re-compile things. Not to mention, VS6 won't run on linux, and pretty much can only compile for Windows platforms

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Anyways, yes, we're going way off topic... Let's not sidetrack more than we already have... here's another screen of mine:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. SkaterGOD/DOOD23

    SkaterGOD/DOOD23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I used to use Linux, but now I'm on FreeBSD.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    But, here are some screenshots anyway (my Desktop Environment is WindowMaker [for all you Steve Jobs fanatics, he created WindowMaker]) - I love it, it's very light, and still has multiple workspaces, a dock, it is VERY configurable, etc.:

    RIGHT CLICK > VIEW IMAGE/OPEN IMAGE should view it in a larger format.

    1.) I use Opera by the way, it is VERY fast and is definitely underrated (at least for me). I would use FireFox, but I ran into some Library problems.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Please Register or Log in to view images



    2.) Not much, just Opera. This is about a 3-day-old install by the way. And, I've only been using WindowMaker for 1 day (was total CLI [Command-Line-Interface] before that).

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page