safe to install summerboard on iPod touch?

Discussion in 'iOS Themes and Customization' started by rrm74001, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. rrm74001

    rrm74001 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Is it safe to install summerboard straight from the installer application? I remember when the jailbreaker first came out you had to modify the file permissions in an SFTP before it would work. But I do not know if it has been updated since then to accomidate for that. So is it safe?

    Sorry if this has already been asked.

    Thank you in advance for your response.
  2. 1god1king

    1god1king New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya should see summerboard(old) and then summerboard ver 3.0b1 thats how i installed mine

    the 3.0b1 is the one i have installed on my 1.1.2 touch
  3. blajeans

    blajeans New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea it is safe and works just fine...
    and by the way....a new summerboard update was released last night...
  4. 1god1king

    1god1king New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool thanks
  5. rrm74001

    rrm74001 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Okay cool and how do I update my 1.1.1 jailbroken iPod to 1.1.2 jailbroken? Does it require me to restore my iPod?

    (This probably has been asked before, so just a short answer will do.)
  6. blajeans

    blajeans New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    there is an easy step-by-step instruction here: http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8678

    however, you don't need to download the 1.1.2 firmware anymore... you can use the one that itunes installs by itself...

    EDIT: ohh.. and no, you don't need to restore your ipod.. next thing you have to do now is install oktoprep from the installer onto your 1.1.1. firmware... and keep following the link from there on...

Share This Page