Run apps on a PC

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by mynameisBEEKMAN, Dec 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mynameisBEEKMAN

    mynameisBEEKMAN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    im running windows vista home premium, any way to do this?
  2. Nt1440

    Nt1440 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    26
    lol that was quick

    and ontopic im trying to find out a way, but i dont think these apps will run on windows, so mayb open it in a virtual pc?
  3. mynameisBEEKMAN

    mynameisBEEKMAN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    idk how to do it in cgywin (spelling??)

    i could try virtual box, but that needs an iso file, and unless there is an ipodtouch.iso, i dont think it will work
  4. Nt1440

    Nt1440 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    26
    well the ipod runs a version of osx (mac) so mayb u could get ahold of an iso of that? and it would potentially work on that
  5. Nt1440

    Nt1440 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    26
    i opened up the biggest file in notepad and got wat i expected- jumbled mess

    im pretty sure it has to be converted to certain coding before you can make out wat is actually going on?

    anyone know how or wat do do?

    mayb skylar?
  6. DerekVOF

    DerekVOF Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Just to clarify - Mac OS X (Intel) is NOT the same as Mac OS X (iPod Touch/iPhone). If you put iPod Touch apps on a Mac, all you get is a big "X" through them indicating they're unable to be run.

    Problem every seems to forget is that an operating system is written for specific processors, and so are the applications. When Apple updated their processors from PowerPC to Intel, they had to include a full-blown emulator (called Rosetta) as part of the operating system for backwards compatibility. The iPod Touch is running a different processor (I believe it's an ARM processor).
  7. mynameisBEEKMAN

    mynameisBEEKMAN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    sooooooooo,

    anyway to get an emulator going????
  8. DerekVOF

    DerekVOF Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I'm sure someone will someday - just like the NES has been emulated...

    Of course as the iPod Touch is currently in the market, anyone who releases an emulator is going to get hit with a cease & desist letter from Apple faster than they can say "Woohoo!"
  9. mynameisBEEKMAN

    mynameisBEEKMAN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    lets keep trying

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    , and hope no one goes to jail

    also: GBA is still on the market, and no one got introuble for that
  10. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    Well I think the closest thing is Air iPhone, but that is stupid and really crappy (no offense to who made it)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page