Rounded Edges on Custom Icons? Corner Transparency Help!

Discussion in 'iOS Themes and Customization' started by techninja, Aug 3, 2008.

1. techninja

techninja New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Ok, so I was trying to make my own custom icons for my iPod Touch (Firmware 2.0), but as replaced them with the originals (I used WinSCP to get into my "Applications" folder) I noticed that none of my icons had the rounded edges that I'd anticipated. Instead, I found that they contained the original rounded looking image, only that they were surrounded by nasty little white corners.

What am I doing wrong? I tried making the corners white in Paint Shop Pro (assuming that that was the transparent color) as well as using PSP's eraser tool to create an ACTUAL transparent background.

Is this because .png files don't retain their transparencies or am I just a total noob begging for negative responses?

Thanks for reading!

Techninja
  2. broti

broti New Member

Hey I found this on another site. I take no credit. Just tryin to help

NOTE: ***THIS TUTORIAL MUST NOT BE COPIED OR REPOSTED ON ANY OTHER FORUM OR THREAD, AND ANY ICON RELEASE USING THIS TECHNIQUE MUST BE CREDITED TO ME.****

Hey guys, I'm gonna teach you how to make your icons for your "squared" apps, and walk you through the whole process, up to applying the icon to your apps!

1. First, get the 512x512 icon from iTunes for the app you want to make a rounded icon for.

2. When you've done that, open it in Photoshop.

3. Now select the whole image using +A or ctrl+A.

4. Now go to the select menu and go into Modify>Smooth.

5. Set the sample radius to 50.

6. Now invert the selection using +shift+I and press delete/backspace to remove the corners.

7. Use the magic eraser tool to make the corners transparent.

8. After that, make the image smaller by pressing +minus and drag the window out until you see a good amount of grey around the image.