root:wheel problem

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.4 Discussions' started by markd11, May 21, 2008.

  1. markd11

    markd11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    everytime i go to installer i get this message, is there nayway i can do to make it work properly...thanx

    Insufficient Permissions

    "Installer was not installed correctly. It should be run as root:wheel. We will continue but please remember that it may not function correctly"
  2. intopuddles

    intopuddles New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    My first reaction, without doing a search, would be to set the persmission of Installer.app to 777.
  3. Relic073

    Relic073 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    you set the permitions for installer manualy....i git this when i changed the permitions for installer......dont mess with installers permitions...you gonna have to restore

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. markd11

    markd11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    so how am i suppose to do that?
  5. markd11

    markd11 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    does this really work?
  6. MrCrawley

    MrCrawley New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    1
    same problem, just re-jb with ziphone or iliberty, whichevere u used
  7. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    This command will fix it

    chown -R root:wheel /Applications/Installer.app

    More info on commands here
  8. tian_kr

    tian_kr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, all of you, see?! this is the answer so dont tell him to do something you dont know if it works. setting the permissions of installer to 777 WILL cause this. and dont tell him to restore when he could fix it in 1 sec.
  9. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    How can you give an answer without doing a search? There is no reason to post if you don't know the solution, or at least have an idea what the solution may be with some sort of reasoning behind it.

    btw, Installer permissions are supposed to be 4755 anyway.
  10. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    damn! i was about to tell him! i had this problem yesterday

    this code does work

Share This Page