restoring without an internet connection

Discussion in 'iTunes' started by nautilus, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. nautilus

    nautilus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    I want to restore my ipod touch 2g, but because of a problem with the lan adapter i don't have an internet connection on my desktop. So is it possible to restore without having internet?
  2. Jake0604

    Jake0604 Well-Known Member Deactivated account

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    495
    no i don't think it is
  3. nautilus

    nautilus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because i saw info in another forum saying that if i add certain line in the hosts file it will work, but it didn't so that's why i decided to ask here
  4. Cwazywazy

    Cwazywazy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6,618
    Likes Received:
    550
    Device:
    Nexus 7
    you can try to do "erase all" (or whatever its called) in the settings if not jailbroken. if jailbroken or that doesnt work then go to a library or something.
  5. Neil826

    Neil826 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    If your ipod is jailbroken and still usable you could use it as a wifi adapter for your pc, I think the app needed to do that was called MyWi
  6. icekilleZ

    icekilleZ Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    66
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    you can shift click it will restore but in the end it will not get out of recovery whateva u do
    u need interent
  7. bluera1n.

    bluera1n. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    NO NO NO. You can't just do that.
  8. pandaa

    pandaa Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    7,438
    Likes Received:
    130
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    You would need two radios to do that.
  9. Neil826

    Neil826 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
  10. SuperMario

    SuperMario Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Couldn't you use tiny umbrella? You would need shsh blobs though.
    Otherwise just use pdanet like they said.

Share This Page