[RESTORING] Pwnage Tool Does Not Work With DFU Mode

Discussion in 'Pwnage and Winpwn Discussions' started by Khaos, Apr 14, 2008.

  1. Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    127
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I Am on a mac and recently i installed the 2.0 firmware, it worked got bored of it real fast... So i decided to downgrade

    Of course i knew the only way to do that was DFU (at least i thought that) But after i put it in and tried to restore with a custom 1.1.4 it gave me the error 1600, kept trying, kept getting the error

    So finally i normally restored and it worked

    So this is a warning...

    If you don't want to restore and re-pwn, don't put it in DFU mode

    (By the way, tell me if i could have downgraded right from restore mode?)
  2. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hmm, I guess DFU mode only works with official firmwares, lol.

    I'll keep that in mind once Winpwn comes out. Thanks!
    Because I'm sure I would have put it into DFU mode to downgrade.
  3. ibitapple

    ibitapple New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    3
    i wonder if this applies with winpwn to anyway thanks
  4. Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    127
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    It probably will because i have a feeling putting it in restore mode deactivates the bootloader or at least locks the system down so you can't restore with custom firmware
  5. mikesgroove

    mikesgroove New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    15
    It seems that putting your Touch/iPhone in DFU circumvents the "pwning" of your device. In other words, you cannot load unsigned firmwares when you are in DFU. This is probably why you cannot Pwn your device when its in DFU either and Pwnage will not run unless you are in normal restore mode.

    DFU in essence "erases" your firmware more cleanly than restore- though that is a bit misleading because it isn't the Recovery Modes that you are in that erases and re-installs the firmware, but DFU allows a more complete "erase and re-install."
  6. Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    127
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Close but no cigar

    Restore Mode/Recovery Mode: Re-Writes The firmware meaning it overwrites it like pasting the same file in the same spot as another file named it, you have to replace it (Thats why you can't downgrade this way)

    DFU Mode: Erases Everything and then re-installs it
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    HEEERE I COME TO SAVE THE DAY!!!! - Andy Kaufman pretending to be Mightmouse


    Source: Hackint0sh


  8. mikesgroove

    mikesgroove New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    15
    honestly, i fail to see how this is different than what i said, but, whatever...
  9. consume1

    consume1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Why would you try to restore with dfu mode anyway?
  10. iAlexander

    iAlexander New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Because he's trying to downgrade the firmware, and you normally can't do that unless you're in DFU mode.

Share This Page