Restored, but still Jailbroken?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by itsanitouch, May 1, 2009.

  1. itsanitouch

    itsanitouch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I just did a DFU restore to the original 2.2.1 FW on my 2G. I had Jailbroken back when redsn0w first came out.

    I restored my most recent backup (today), and cydia, installer and Icy were all gone. So I figured that I was no longer jBroken.

    Before restoring, I had installed something that allowed me to have a numerical battery icon in the status bar.

    After restoring to original FW, I still have a numerical (percentage) battery icon. What's going on? I thought I'm not jailbroken anymore?

    Is it because I restored my backup? How can I tell if I'm using the official bootloader?

    Thanks for any advice.
  2. Nathan B

    Nathan B Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Yes, it is because you restored from a backup.
  3. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some modifications, like MakeItMine Banners and Numeric Battery, can be put on a non jailbroken device by restoring. A simple Firmware Restore won't jailbreak your device, as the patches weren't applied first

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    If you're gonna get ti repaired its best to get rid of those xD
  4. Nathan B

    Nathan B Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    I think with a first gen you don't have to apply the patches, but it has been a while since I have jailbroken a 1G
  5. itsanitouch

    itsanitouch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    So are all the files still there, taking up space?

    I unjailbroke because of performance and battery life issues. Will these leftovers effect me the same way they did when I was jb'd?

    I'm guessing that if I didn't restore from backup I'd loose all my settings; I.e. They are not stored in the ipa...

    Thanks for the quick answers!

Share This Page