Restore before 2.0 Upgrade really necessary?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by aminek, Aug 10, 2008.

  1. aminek

    aminek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apologies if this has already been answered elsewhere, but I can't seem to be able a satisfactory answer to my question.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I have a 1.1.4 jailbroken ipod, and after reading a number of posts/forums, sounds like the recommendation is to restore before upgrading to 2.0. Only thing is when I tried that, iTunes warned me that all the media will be wiped.
    Is there a one-step to upgrade to 2.0.x WITHOUT losing music/videos/contacts? I would hate to have to manually (ie using backup tools) backup data/ upgrade / restore data?

    Thanks!
  2. RenegadeKrogan

    RenegadeKrogan Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can just re-sync your stuff.
  3. aminek

    aminek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would be an option however I manually upload stuff to my ipod... In retrospect, I now understand the advantage of keeping a folder sync'd. The trouble I had with auto-sync is the fact i have a number of computers around the house and update my iPod from all three... at different times.

    Thanks for the advice RenegadeKrogan!
  4. RenegadeKrogan

    RenegadeKrogan Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anytime.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    It was not real great advice though...
  5. AngelSynth

    AngelSynth Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    10
    no software update is "necessary" but I would recommend a pwned 2.x to anyone who has the patience to put up with it's buggy arse
  6. aminek

    aminek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    AngelSynth, are you saying I can go straight to a pwned v2.0, without doing an upgrade + jailbreak? Please enlighten me!!

Share This Page