Restore After Install Jailbroken Apps[HELP!]

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by nepstep, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. nepstep

    nepstep New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    hello i have an iPod touch with 3.1.2 Firmware,
    i have jailbroke it with blackra1n, i have install Cydia.
    so now i go to install WinterBoard and it ask me for reboot, i press ok and iPod reboot normally, after reboot it ask me to connect it with itunes.
    when i connect my iPod with Pc, it starts on restore mode and restore all data, and after restore i haven't Cyndia neither Winterboard, and i get the same thing with other apps like afc2add and more.

    please help me, what i must do??
  2. Crinkypops

    Crinkypops New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Ok. So blackra1n is a tethered jailbreak. This means that if you turn off your iPod you will have to jailbreak it again (but the apps are still going to be there). Doing a reboot after the installation of Winterboard would need another jailbreak. So what you did was wrong. You shouldn't have restored it. So now you have to jailbreak it, then install Cydia, then winterboard. After Winterboard is done installing, you have two options. One is that reboot the device and jailbreak it again (Winterboard is going to be there and same as Cydia) or just press the home button after you installed Winterboard (when it says reboot device).

    Hope that helps!
  3. Dabone

    Dabone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    48
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    His iPod isn't tethered. Only 3rd gen is tethered actually.
    The on;y solution i guess is to put everything back on, sorry
  4. nepstep

    nepstep New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    when i restart my ipod it asks again itunes connection, jailbroken or not.
    so i think the only stable solution is the home button when app goes to restart.
  5. Crinkypops

    Crinkypops New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    umm.. He clearly said the iPod was running on 3.1.2
  6. canesfan

    canesfan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    the tethered jailbreak is for the 3g ipod touch, not the 3.1.2 firmware
  7. DeadKid

    DeadKid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Thought its only tethered on 3G if model-number starts with "MC...",
    "MB.." should do it?!

    edit:

    if it starts with "MC..." its 3G if it starts with "MB..." its 2G...

Share This Page