Respring vs Reboot

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by RedScare, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. RedScare

    RedScare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    What is the practical difference between the two for the ipod touch 2G? Obviously restarting completely clears the RAM, but is respringing (by way of changing the language) just as effective? Thanks.
  2. nikj14

    nikj14 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    i found that rebooting gives you very little advantage over a respring, and you can clear the RAM by using SBsettings and the plugin called Processes, you can quit them from the springboard.
  3. RedScare

    RedScare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I forgot to mention that I'm non-jailbroken.
  4. Sarcasm Siempre

    Sarcasm Siempre New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    If you're non-jailbroken I don't think there is a way for you to respring. Is there?
  5. RedScare

    RedScare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    By changing the language in Settings you force a respring.
  6. iamcanadian

    iamcanadian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    15
    Theres a glitch in 2.0+ if you hold down an icon, and then hit the home button just before the icons wiggle, it will respring.
  7. sprint_user

    sprint_user New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    yeah, hold down an icon, then press the home button, then when wiggle apps starts, i will respring
  8. giannaros

    giannaros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Doesnt work for me...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page