Repairing partitions after dual boot? (experienced people)

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Mortel, Mar 22, 2008.

1. Mortel

Mortel Active Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well, as some of you know if you read my other topic a few days ago, I have recently followed the guide to dual booting your iPod Touch. Now, I am not experienced at all with the DOS commands, or whatever they are called, I just followed the instructions. But from what I understand, I created another partition, called disk0s3. The first one was called disk0s1 I believe.

Anyways, using a Jiggy script to easily switch between the partitions, I accidentally booted into one called disk0s2. When I did this, my iPod went into an everlasting loop of restore mode, meaning that once I restored it, it went right back into restore mode again. It involved a lot of restoring, and fixing the NVRAM via. ZiPhone to make my iPod boot again. Now, here is the problem.

I suspect something is still wrong with my iPod, since ever since that happened, I always have trouble turning my iPod on. I have had to restore my iPod about 5 times since then, because it gets stuck at the Apple logo about 70% of the time that I turn it on, maybe more. in fact, I just turned it on again, and it is stuck at the Apple logo yet AGAIN.

I'm getting pretty tired of this, and worried that it is unfixable. So, if anyone is experienced at this kind of stuff, can you tell me if it is possible to reset my iPod to the way it was before I ever did the Dual Boot? Or maybe even dual booting it again would help somehow, but booting it into disk0s1 with the Jiggy thing? Since the last thing I did before this all happened was accidentally boot into disk0s2.
  2. Khaos

Khaos Well-Known Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Try restoring in DFU mode or try downgrading from DFU mode, maybe that will help
  3. Mortel

Mortel Active Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    No, this is a problem that can't be fixed by restoring.