Rename SIP-VoIp

Discussion in 'iPod touch VoIP and Telephony' started by HaGGardSmurf, Jan 1, 2008.

  1. HaGGardSmurf

    HaGGardSmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally I don't like the SIP-VoIp name. It looks better if it says "Phone" or "VoIp" I decided to rename it to "Phone"

    To rename the application follow these steps:

    1) SSH into your iPod
    2) Navigate to /Applications/
    3) Rename SIP-VoIp to whatever

    It has been hardcoded into the application itself to look for the folder SIP-VoIp.app and then browse through it for the accounts.xml. I noticed you are not able to edit the application with notepad or any other text editor because it will not save right therefore you need to do the following:

    1) Make a new folder called "SIP-VoIp" in /Applications/
    2) Copy the accounts.xml from your renamed folder (in my case it would be in "Phone.app" because thats what I renamed the folder)
    3) Paste the accounts.xml file into "SIP-VoIp.app"

    Make sure all your permissions are 755 and then go ahead and start up your VoIp App!
  2. ballinjace

    ballinjace New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    9
    Or go to installer and download a program called 'finder'

    Does it for you.

    Simple and easy.
  3. kingjarman

    kingjarman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Finder ftw.
  4. hockeycraze12000

    hockeycraze12000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    13
    actually its mobile finder, under the productivity section
  5. bklynsoulja

    bklynsoulja New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah but this will give u a error when u update dont it?
  6. mytouch386

    mytouch386 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    ???

    do we have to do this when we edit picks i like my own dialer!?!?
  7. HaGGardSmurf

    HaGGardSmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope but when you update you will have another application... So basically updating will be downloading another updated copy to your iPod so you will still have your "phone.app" and you will have "SIP-VoIp.app" both will appear on your iPod and both will work fine...

    Sorry what?

Share This Page