Remote SUCKS.

Discussion in 'iTunes App Store Games & Apps' started by The UNtouchable One, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. The UNtouchable One

    The UNtouchable One New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I've gone over it so many hundreds of times to the point of annoyance. I've been trying to get Remote to work, but it won't. It just WON'T. My iPod is a 1st Gen. 32GB on 3.0 Jailbroken. Every time I try to connect it, the little Remote icon doesn't show up under Devices in iTunes. Having this app work for me would be the most convenient thing for my sound setup to be perfect! Remote won't show up under Devices when I'm plugged in wire or wireless. I've installed Bonjour, made sure it, along with iTunes, passes BOTH of my firewalls, and also have the correct options in iTunes, such as library sharing, scanning for Remote devices, etc. Is there ANYTHING else I can do, or is this app just a bust?

    I've Googled, BTW, and come up with NOTHING.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. yuyaera

    yuyaera Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    have you tried re-downloading it? or rebooting?
  3. The UNtouchable One

    The UNtouchable One New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yup. Tried restarting my computer, iTunes, my iPod TWICE, and starting both iTunes and Remote on the iPod at the same time.
  4. yuyaera

    yuyaera Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    so you did re-download?
  5. SiXAXiS

    SiXAXiS Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    i thought remote would be like a apple remote.
  6. The UNtouchable One

    The UNtouchable One New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yeah. Re-downloaded just now. Still nothing.

    What do you mean? It is. It controls your iTunes library on your computer from your iPod Touch/iPhone or same thing, but with Apple TV.
  7. bamhm182

    bamhm182 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Remote functioned for me. I'm not sure what I did right though. If you have a few bucks to spare, and if you're on a Mac, I'd highly recommend downloading Rowmote. It allows you to control almost every application on your Mac. Though I mostly just use it for iTunes and it works GREAT. There is Rowmote(which I have) for $1 and Rowmote Pro for $5. Rowmote Pro comes with everything in Rowmote and a Keyboard/mouse. I'd recommend saving the $4 and going with the normal version.
  8. bgizzle

    bgizzle Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    543
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    Just FYI, Bonjour doesn't work across subnets because it depends on sending broadcast packets. You mentioned that you have it going through two firewalls. That's the sticking point.
  9. The UNtouchable One

    The UNtouchable One New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I'm on a PC. Acer Aspire 5000 running Windows XP.

    Wait, so I just can't use remote because I have 2 firewalls? I don't quite understand.
  10. FrostyRawr

    FrostyRawr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Wait, so suddenly just because it doesn't work on your ipod/iphone that means it sucks. Cool, you just taught me a whole new sense of logic./sarcasm

    And unjailbreak your ipod while your at it itmight fix it.

Share This Page