remote shutdown

Discussion in 'Application Ideas' started by squasho, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. squasho

    squasho New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it would be very cool if you could use your ipod touch to shutdown a windows computer by remote. I do not want to remote-control my victims computer because then it is so much more work to do.

    It would be perfect if someone could port the shutdown.exe, that you can find in your windows directory, to the ipod touch.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/317371

    What do you think about the idea?
  2. Monkey Jam

    Monkey Jam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    you could just use touchpad pro or VNC
  3. squasho

    squasho New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    but then i will have to install that program on every computer that i wanna shut down. It is much easier with the shutdown command. Does anyone know if it is hard to port this kind of app? I mean..it is command-line so it shouldn't be that hard.
  4. gumbi

    gumbi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    you can't execute programs on a computer if it doesn't have a VNC server running. i don't think you can get around installing 'that program'.
  5. DJ Xander

    DJ Xander New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    8
    SSH works, just use Term on your iPod, SSH into your computer for example: JohnDoe@johnmac
    and use sudo -i shutdown

    I think thats it for the command, but I'm not sure. Let me try it and let you know. If it works it will shut down my computer so I'll be back soon.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. Pudge

    Pudge New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    all you need is the "Run..." application like on a computer (go to start and it should be there)

    then you can just go "cmd" then "shutdown -i" and so forth

    but you need the "Run..." on the iTouch/Phone

Share This Page