Remote Desktop!

Discussion in 'Linux' started by fckinfamous, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. fckinfamous

    fckinfamous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    What kind of program can i use if i wanna control my pc running vista on my laptop running ubuntu?
  2. Cyanidepoison

    Cyanidepoison Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    Install a VNC server on your Windows PC and use the client already installed in Ubuntu.

    And seriously, Google this sh*t before you ask. This one was obvious.
  3. nelson480

    nelson480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    no need to swear
  4. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    But I feel his anger. People, not just on iPTF, but anyone who has a device connected to the internet, seriously need to seriously use Google or any other search engine.
  5. fckinfamous

    fckinfamous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    You think i didnt try that already? That sh*t doesnt work on ubuntu! but yea whatever i got it working.

    Dont be angry, relax!

    MODS CLOSE THIS THREAD!
  6. Cyanidepoison

    Cyanidepoison Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    2
    It works fine on any operating system. VNC is a protocol which can be implemented by anyone with anything. There are VNC clients and servers for every operating system I've ever heard of that has a graphical environment.
  7. fckinfamous

    fckinfamous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    It loads up and everything but nothing happens, but never mind about that i got it to work now, sorry for my previous post i kind of made it sound like i was pissed

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. wibble

    wibble New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's like saying I can only access the internet on a specific operating system.
  9. terabite

    terabite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    depending on your version of vista you could just use remote desktop as the terminal server client (that comes with ubuntu) will connect via rdp to a win machine. VNC is always an option yet tends to be pretty insecure especially with the authentication bypass vulnerabilities and the numerous amount of skiddies online that scan ip ranges for vnc servers and when they find one try to brute force the password.
  10. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    The easy way? LogMeIn. Not the best, but probably the laziest and easiest.

Share This Page