Remote Access

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by .Chris, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. .Chris

    .Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Okay well I lost my iPod and I'm wondering if there's a way to remotely make it play music or make a loud noise of some kind. The iPod is connected to my Wifi and is not plugged into headphones of any kind. It is charged and on.

    Thank you very much for any help.
  2. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Unless the iPod is connected to a computer or wall outlet, it will not maintain its wifi connection.
  3. .Chris

    .Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I do how ever remember clicking a setting to have it maintain it's connectivity while on standby. Does that at all help? I don't remember if it was just one app or the whole device.

    Much appreciated.
  4. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Nope, I still get push notifications when mine's in my pocket.

    @OP If you're got push Gmail enabled you could send a much of messages to yourself? No other ideas.
  5. .Chris

    .Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I have my email account set up but when I receive emails, the device does not alert me with any sound, only by a small notification in the top right (or left, can't remember) of the app.
  6. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Just search your house or wherever you lost it. Do you have MobileMe? That will make a sound.
  7. .Chris

    .Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I've been looking for 5 hours straight. I know it's in my house but I can't find it xD.

    I'll make sure to install MobileMe as soon as I find it though. Any more suggestions while I continue my search?
  8. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I'm not sure of the exact number, but at some point, connectivity is dropped to save battery. (Or at least that was the case pre-Push). I doubt the iPod has a persistent connection when locked.
  9. .Chris

    .Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well lets ASSUME it does. How would I make my ipod play music or something?
  10. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Oh and it costs $100 a year.

Share This Page