Reinstalled Vista; How to get back my apps?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by lakicsv, Nov 4, 2008.

  1. lakicsv

    lakicsv New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I have reinstalled my OS (vista) and started with a fresh install of iTunes, since I did not care about loosing my playlists, etc.

    But, I had many apps bought in the app store, and now iTunes wants to wipe my iPod apps as well... I was hoping that I could get my apps automatically from my iTunes account info.

    Where is the information about my apps stored? Especially the licenses, so I do not have to buy them again!! What happens if I let iTunes delete my apps, and want to download an app I have already bought?

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks a lot! Viktor
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    iTunes should sync back paid applications to iTunes. I'm sure you can't download them again. You can always try and cry to Apple and beg they restore them and they will. They pretend it's a special favor though.
  3. lakicsv

    lakicsv New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I' am confused about your response. Will iTunes sync back my apps to my iPod after deleting them or not? And if not, who to contact at Apple? Did you try this yourself (i mean getting them to restore your apps)?

    Thanks!
  4. Spartigus

    Spartigus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I had the same problem. Your computer will erase your ipod because it thinks you syncing to a new library, which you are.

    As long as you still have your itunes account user name and password you have 2 options.
    1. You can go through all the apps on the appstore and re-downlaod them all again, the paid ones will be free.
    2. Contact apple, and they will enable your account just once, to download all your apps you brought all at once with a few quick clicks, but apple have to enable your account to do this and it only works once.

Share This Page