Redsn0w size

Discussion in 'iPod touch 2G Jailbreak: redsn0w, 24kpwn, etc.' started by person500, Feb 22, 2009.

  1. person500

    person500 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just jailbroke my ipod touch 2g 8gig, and it went from a capacity of 8gig to 6gig when itunes shows it. Is this normal?

    I also had to re-sync all of my music and apps...
  2. ParrotBoy

    ParrotBoy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Woah, thats not normal... Try plugging into itunes again, if its the same I would restore
  3. person500

    person500 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think all of my apps and music from before the jailbreak are still hidden in there somewhere...

    It's now 6.82 or whatever... about how much does redsn0w take up?
  4. Ryan

    Ryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,129
    Likes Received:
    28
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    no they are not, you restored, it removes it all.

    You must have set the root size to 2gb :\

    ipsw "original.ipsw" "custom.ipsw" -s 2000 /bundles/cydia.tar

    like that. the -s 2000 makes the root size 2000mb (2gb)
  5. person500

    person500 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used Cywood's unofficial GUI to jailbreak... i really have no idea what your talking about... i'm no good at all this
  6. Shadowriver

    Shadowriver Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    There 2 partitions in iPhone OS, one for system (called root, because... it's root dir

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ), 2nd it's private area used for appstore apps, music etc.. system partition is not visible in storage size indicator. While you made JB you set root size to 2gb making cut it from you iPoT's storage. JB apps use root partition :>
  7. person500

    person500 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    so what do i do?
    Do i need to do anything?
    I think i get it... so when i install JBed apps, they go to root and dont show up on my capacity?
  8. mikeman118

    mikeman118 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    With an 8 Gigabyte you only actually have 7.1 gigabytes or something like that, and then it has to put all of your themes and apps somewhere, make a total of 6.8
  9. Mr X

    Mr X New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do the JB over again, but do: ipsw "original.ipsw" "custom.ipsw" -s 700 /bundles/cydia.tar

    note the 700. That's what I used, and it works great. But what do you guys mean when you say the JB apps go in root? My root is 700mb, and I have 900mb of JB aps installed.... :\

Share This Page