Recovery Mode! [Help]

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by iFluke, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. iFluke

    iFluke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I Jailbroke my ipod touch 3.1.2 (32gb) not too long ago and have been running into some problems every time i plug it into my computer i get this error from itunes : "iTunes has detected an iPod in recovery mode - Use iTunes to restore"

    I don't want to restore it for the obvious reasons

    All i get on my ipod touch is the usb cable with the itunes logo above it, now i haven't really waited for longer than 5 minutes but will it really go away after 10? i highly doubt it myself unless someone else can confirm it.

    I have found out that running blackra1n while the ipod touch is in recovery mode reboots the device without restoring it, but i don't want to keep on doing that all the time.

    My question is:

    Is there any other way to get around this whole problem without having to face that popup?
  2. Chamilism

    Chamilism New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    No. If you've been reading that is called a tethered jailbreak. So you have to boot with blackra1n. DONE
  3. Theodosius

    Theodosius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad 3
    You should learn all the details first.
    But anyways, it's impossible, that is why it is called a tethered jailbreak.
  4. iFluke

    iFluke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    yeah i know what tethered means but i didn't know plugging it into itunes plays that factor, besides, i am very new at this (4 days) and i thank you guys for your help.

    So to make it crystal clear, EVERYTIME i plug it into itunes and get that popup message i HAVE to run it with blackra1n??
  5. JCsuperathelete@hotmail.c

    JCsuperathelete@hotmail.c New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    same problem...are there any good untethered programs? i used quickpwn a long time ago, but last i checked its not out, maybe it is.
  6. Theodosius

    Theodosius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad 3
    There are no untethered jailbreaks for the 3g, period.
    End of story.
  7. Tomgroove

    Tomgroove New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    no...only if you boot the iPod. Coming from standby works fine.
  8. Theodosius

    Theodosius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad 3
    That pop-up only shows when it was turned off...

Share This Page