Quickfreedom Using Wine on Ubuntu?

Discussion in 'Android Chat' started by gammaraptor, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. gammaraptor

    gammaraptor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ok, so I was installing Ubuntu. I was resizing my partition so I could keep Windows. Unfortunately, it removed my Windows. I never did backup Windows *sniff. So now I'm using Ubuntu. The question is, is it possible to use Quickfreedom using Wine? Just want to know.
  2. Gitykins

    Gitykins Banned

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wine doesn't have very many USB capabilities.

    No, you'll need either OS X or Windoze to jailbreak unless you compile and make iRecovery for linux and then do it the old fashioned way.
  3. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. iLINUX

    iLINUX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (White)
    Their site isn't very informative, just access to *******s for each OS

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    .
  5. Ezekeel

    Ezekeel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Yeah, the lack of information is kinda annoying.

    I tried the Linux version of redsnow 0.3 and it works, however you either need to run it as root or define some udev rules since it needs to access the USB.

    Oh yeah and of course you need a ton of dynamically linked libs, which luckily were all installed on OpenSuse, however Ubuntu is a bit slim and you might need to install them. Check the readme for a listing or use ldd.
  6. gammaraptor

    gammaraptor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Thanks...

    That helps. Thanks guys...
  7. F6F Freak

    F6F Freak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I feel sorry for you. I almost blew out my Windows partition too, but realized what I was doing, and shut it down. Next time, install inside Windows is the best option...
    I am on Ubuntu at the moment.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    BTW, did the 0.3 work for you inside linux?
  8. gammaraptor

    gammaraptor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I din't like Vmware

    Yes, but I don't like doing that, it's SO MUCH SLOWER
    Next time I'll use another PC
  9. mohaas05

    mohaas05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Resizing an NTFS partition is iffy. You need to defrag it first. Resizing an ext3 partition (What you have right now), is a lot easier...as long as you're not using an LVM (Which I presume you're not).

    If you don't want to use redsn0w, you can download VMware Server and install Windows inside it. If you do XP, you only need to give 128MB of ram to it and it works fine.
  10. gammaraptor

    gammaraptor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Thanks...

    Ah, thanks, at least I understand what happened now...
    Lol, I'm a programmer but I still don't know that much.

Share This Page