Quick question about what happens when you do an iPod factory restore...

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ahrenba, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. ahrenba

    ahrenba New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys,

    When you do a factory restore of an iPod, I know it erases the media, settings, etc, but does it delete all the files/folders you added to the iPod since you originally got it?

    The reason I ask is because I restored my touch the other day, and I logged into it via SSH and noticed that some of my third party app files/folders were still there. I don't think the ones in /Applications were, but some of the ones that put files in other folders were.

    Is this right? If so, is there a way to do a COMPLETE restore/erase?
  2. freelancer91

    freelancer91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    well, when I restored my touch, I did it because I accidently deleted EVERY SINGLE FILE. (its a long story, I was drowzy one night and wasn't paying attention.) I wouldn't know if restoring would do that. If you don't want the files there, just go in and delete them manually.
  3. ahrenba

    ahrenba New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    LOL! Ok, thanks. The only problem with deleting them manually is that they get installed into a bunch of locations of which I do not know.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page