Quick PC question

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by imranh101, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. imranh101

    imranh101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
  2. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    The Phenom II is better. Although it lacks one core stock the L3 cache will make much more of a difference. Plus if you plan to overclock im sure you can unlock this 4th core and make it just as good as the Athlon with the L3 cache thrown in as a bonus. The only bad is that you will have to have a AM3 socket for the Phenom while with the Athlon you could have a AM3 or AM2+ socket.
  3. imranh101

    imranh101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    I figured as such, cores are not everything!

    And would a cheap fan/sink ($15), am3 compatible, be good enough to cool it.
  4. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    The Phenom II would be the better choice. Also get the right motherboard, and you may be able to unlock the 4th core.

    The stock heatsink from AMD is actually really good btw.

    Edit: There is a pretty nice Phenom II 550 C3 steppings out their in your price range, that are getting unlocked to quads @ 4.0 GHz stable.
  5. imranh101

    imranh101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
  6. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Yes.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    They work really good, but it does depend on what you plan on OC'ing too.
  7. imranh101

    imranh101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    Oh cool

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    What if I were to over clock to either 4 ghz or unlock the 4th core but not both?
  8. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    4 GHz would be a no no. 4th core if lucky would be fine.
  9. imranh101

    imranh101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    Okay, new question has come up
    The mobo I was looking at is mATX
    How can I tell what I have? It's a stock mobo so I never really had to worry about it. And again can you confirm if I could use a PATA drive as the boot/ OS drive?
  10. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    micro ATX boards usually have around 3 PCI slots where a ATX board will have about 5.

    just some quick dimensions i found
    ATX: 12.0" x 8.5-10" inches

    mATX: 9.6" x 7.0-8.5" inches

    i would mainly focus on that first dimension if you are going to measure your current board. it was uniform throughout ever board of that type i checked.

    not entirely sure about the boot drive though.

Share This Page