Question for snow leapord cd

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by SuperMario, May 28, 2010.

  1. SuperMario

    SuperMario Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    If I buy the $30 one, can I install it on windows or do I need to have mac os x leapard to upgrade? I have a MacBook btw. EDIT: retail CD from best buy.

    EDIT AGAIN:I need leopard so this thread can be closed.
  2. Kidchop

    Kidchop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You can as it contains bootcamp mate however online deals you can get parallels for around £20

    If you dont have normal leopard then you dont get iPhoto, iWeb and Garage band. I think other small niggles and apps are missing but cant remember
  3. SuperMario

    SuperMario Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    So if I install snow leapord without mac os x leapord I don't get iLife?
  4. MrDodi

    MrDodi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    youll just get the Operating System and the standard programms.
    I live is in the 29$ not included.
  5. SuperMario

    SuperMario Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Read the original post! I said that you need leopard to upgrade.
  6. MrDodi

    MrDodi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    The Upgrade DVD Contains the whole System not just an "update".
    But i seems that you just can install the whole system on a hackintosh without Leopard
  7. SuperMario

    SuperMario Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    The retail said you need leapord.I got a MacBook. This thread may be closed mods
  8. xXrkidXx

    xXrkidXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    129
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    ..That's Apple's way of doing things. I have heard plenty of times hackint0shers using the retail CD for a full install. It can easily do a fresh install, Apple only wanted you to spend more money.
  9. MrDodi

    MrDodi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    correct. I got a AMD Hackintosh with the 29$ retail disc, without Leopard Running.
    So its just a Apple thing :\
  10. SuperMario

    SuperMario Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Too late...
    I bought something else.

Share This Page