iOS 3.1 Question about upgrading while jailbroken

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by touchfan092, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. touchfan092

    touchfan092 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I have a 1G touch jailbroken on 3.1.2 and I was considering updating to a clean 3.1.3 so that I will have a sure-fire clean back-up to use when I set up my 4G when it arrives. so what I'm wondering is when you upgrade from jailbroken software, other than just breaking the jailbreak, does it erase everything you've downloaded or put on that requires jailbreaking such as themes and such? and also, if I choose not to upgrade to 3.1.3, will restoring my 4G from a jailbroken back up mess it up in any way? thanks.
  2. rrroach

    rrroach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944
    Likes Received:
    527
    yes

    Not "mess up," per say. You may be stuck with remnants of the JB, like still having a battery percentage. If I were you, I'd just do a clean restore.
  3. touchfan092

    touchfan092 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    ok thanks, I will probably do that then.
  4. rrroach

    rrroach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,944
    Likes Received:
    527
    you're welcome. which iPod did you get in terms of memory?
  5. touchfan092

    touchfan092 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    i pre-ordered the 32 gb model, i'm pretty much out of space on my 1G 16 gb but the 64 seemed like it would be too much for me.

Share This Page