iOS 3.1 question about updating to 3.1.2

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by theiflord180, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. theiflord180

    theiflord180 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ok so iI have a second gen. Ipod touch, with jailbroken 3.0 software. Recently,cydia stopped working. If I update to 3.1.2 firmware, will my ipod just go back to it's factory settings? Like, will my themes and stuff be erased? And before I update should there be anything I should do (ex. remove themes, delete blank apps, etc)?

    Thanks
  2. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    You could backup your suff with aptbackup. And you don't have to delete anything before you update just restore to 3.1.2 and use blackra1n.
  3. theiflord180

    theiflord180 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Could you please explain what aptbackup is?
  4. Demonrob

    Demonrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yeah i have kind of the same question.

    i have an ipod touch 2g with jailbreak on 3.0.

    if i update (not restore) to 3.1.2 with the official update from apple without deleting my apps and themes and stuff, will they remain in the ipod?


    the steps i would take would be like this.




    1.- from jailbreak 3.0 with apps and stuff.
    2.-update with apple 3.1.2 (downloaded directly from itunes)
    3.- run blackra1n right after the update

    my apps and info will remain in the ipod?
  5. xinzhitan14

    xinzhitan14 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    i believe after you upgrade the firmware, all your things will be lost. At least this is what happened to me. so i strongly suggest you back up absolutely everything before upgrading firmware.

Share This Page