Question about announcement and timing

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by greengirl905, Jul 21, 2009.

1. greengirl905

greengirl905 New Member

Hi,

Toying with the idea of a Touch and debating on whether to buy now or very incredibly impatiently wait for the 3rd generation. Since I'm very new to the Ipods in general I don't know how things work. I have a few questions:

1. If the Touch is announced in September, does that mean that we can buy it in September? And when in September do these things get announced? Early, late?

2. Do we get advanced notice of the thing coming out so that we can plan to buy it? So will we know for sure that it's coming out in August?

3. Do you get to pre-order the Touch?

What I'm trying to figure out is whether to buy one now which would be very helpful for some upcoming travels we've got, because the new one won't realistically be in my hands until Christmas, or, since I've lived so long without one, wait a few more weeks.

I am a complete newbie to this stuff.

Thanks.
  2. JonnySK

JonnySK Active Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    1. If what happened last year happens again, then yes. It was released as soon as it was announced. Last year it was announced on the 9th of September.

2. Nope, no advanced notice, it gets announced in September and is Released in September.

3. Nope, it is only put on the Websites (Apple, amazon etc) when it is released.

So, in short, you can buy them/order them ONLY when they are released in September
  3. deadlyvirus

deadlyvirus New Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Also, wait until the new one comes out if you want to get a 2g. The prices on eBay will be ridiculously low
  4. Hellishness

Hellishness Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)