PWNAGE worked in making custom firmware 2.0 for touch

Discussion in 'Pwnage and Winpwn Discussions' started by llekyamer, Apr 3, 2008.

  1. llekyamer

    llekyamer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok after a couple of tries, I was able to finally figure out how to get the firmware 2.0 beta to work on my ipod using PWNGE.

    Problem is once you are there you get no installer app also no itunes store app. I have tested a couple of things but what stands out to me the most is that the find me feature in google maps located my house when it was not able to this this morning in 1.1.4. I really don't know how it did it , because it never has been able to do this before. And I mean it found my house excatly where I am.
    Again it does not put the installer app so I don't really know what I could do without that.
  2. killerjak7

    killerjak7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)

    thats because you need a copy of it, and put it in the IPSW file.
    jailbreaking is NOT just the installer app
  3. cantcatchme939

    cantcatchme939 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Pwnage is just to load custom or unregistered firmwares on the touch. It doesn't jailbreak unless its already in the firmware.
  4. llekyamer

    llekyamer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installer app

    Yes but when you make the custom firmware with the PWNAGE tool its supposed to put installer in there. It did that for my custom firmware 1.1.4
  5. MrBrightside

    MrBrightside Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    18
    Can i ask why your doing this? Im sure the only thing you'll be able to change is the boot logo. If you add any apps, they wont work yet. So what else are you going to put in the custom firmware?

    I dont think it adds installer to 2.0. It wouldnt work anyway
  6. DJ Xander

    DJ Xander New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    8
    To hack 2.0:

    1. Restore to 1.1.4
    2. PWN your iPod
    3. Use IPSW Builder to build 1.1.4 PWNED IPSW
    4. Go to browse IPSW and select 2.0 FW
    5. Use IPSW Builder and build it...
  7. llekyamer

    llekyamer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just seeing what it does

    I know you can't really do much with it at this point. But I really would like to know how they got the locate me to work on the ipod touch now with firmware 2.0 and it does not work with 1.1.4 what else are they going to activate once this goes official. It looks that apple has a lot more hiding up their sleeve that we though.
  8. XyracX

    XyracX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPod touch
    So any app is normaly worked on it for now ?
  9. DJ Xander

    DJ Xander New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    8
    So far little to no apps work on 2.0, because of the way it works, if you port it using the SDK then it will work fine and you can tweak it in any way you want, but that takes time, a lot of time...
  10. killerjak7

    killerjak7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    UNLESS you can code.

    my 2.0 custom firmware will support older apps

Share This Page