'Push' only works at public wifi, not working at home

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by henrylo1021, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. henrylo1021

    henrylo1021 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Have anyone had this problem at home ?? I think there is somethings connected to my Wifi Router....any suggestions ??

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. lambo100

    lambo100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i have had the same problem the whole time untill now. Right so heres what to do the problem is as your wireless router doesnt allow it through the dns ip that your internet provider puts on as default. In simple steps this is how to fix it.

    1. Go onto your internet on computer and type in adress boxhttp://192.168.0.1
    To log on enter username as :admin
    password as

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    assword

    now you will get a settings screen on the left side click basic settings and go to the bottom where it says Domain name server now change it so it says : use these dns servers and type in : 194.150.168.168 then press apply.

    2. Open your ipod go on settings and wifi. Next to your wifi connection click on the blue arrow and scroll down to dns. Tap on that and enter 194.150.168.168 then wait for it to connect and voila push notifications will come flying in! Brilliant this worked for me like a charm!
  3. henrylo1021

    henrylo1021 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Thanks man....I gonna try it tonight
  4. lambo100

    lambo100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    no problem hope it works for you be sure to follow the steps carefully
  5. Wuzz Ranger

    Wuzz Ranger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never had a problem with push at home. It works as it should.....Good Luck and I hope you all get it resolved!

    Ranger
  6. henrylo1021

    henrylo1021 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    i changed it, but there is still no 'Push' at home
  7. ggoldfingerd

    ggoldfingerd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try checking the status of your router. Some routers won't use the static DNS even if you have it entered. They can default to your ISP DNS. I have a Linksys WRT110 and it does that. I might try upgrading the firmware later to see if that fixes it.
  8. mikec1985

    mikec1985 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Thats because the guy gave you HIS dns server. On you computer you can easily check what your DNS server is and just type that into your iPod.

    I haven't been able to get push to work either but it doesn't bother me much.
  9. thefan0820

    thefan0820 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    So wait, what it means is that your ipod and your router's DNS addresses need to be the same? So if you cannot change the DNS settings on your router because of a communist ISP, you can still get push?
  10. henrylo1021

    henrylo1021 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    i did all the steps that lambo100 told me to do. My iPod DNS and Router DNS are the same now 194.150.168.168, and there is still no "push" messages at home wifi, but it really works fine at public wifi,i tested myself yesterday, i think there is somethings from my Router that block the messages.....or i dont know how to configure it?

    My Router : TP-Link WR340G

Share This Page