Purple screen of death problem beta 4 and 5 - first gen iphone

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by knarf145, May 10, 2009.

  1. knarf145

    knarf145 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I procrastinated the updating of my beta 3 firmware of my first generation iphone to beta 4. Friday i got the purple screen of death, only to later find out that beta 5 had released too.

    I went to go update my iphone only to get several "unexpected errors"
    Itunes demanded a restore of my iphone and so i clicked yes, only to find another "unexpected error"
    I then restarted my computer and my phone, plugged my phone back into the computer, opened itunes, and now i Itunes wont even recognize my iphone when its plugged in.

    Yes i do have the new beta version of itunes

    now my phone just sits here with a purple screen and a picture of a USB connecting to the itunes logo.

    How can i fix this!?

    -Thanks
  2. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    DFU restore to firmware 2.2.1 and stay with that until apple gives us a beta with no lockdown.
  3. knarf145

    knarf145 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Refresh my memory on how to DFU lol
    its been a long time
  4. Alok

    Alok New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    home+power 10 seconds, then just home for 10 more seconds

    should be precise
  5. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Not going to work
  6. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    Or he could have just clicked my signature's link.
  7. Brewstermax

    Brewstermax New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Why? I have had to downgrade multiple times for various reasons, and it has worked so far.
  8. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    Yea it worked for me.
  9. knarf145

    knarf145 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    nothing is happening when i do the DFU mode.
    Just a black screen and Itunes does nothing..

    Should i call apple or something?
  10. leadergo

    leadergo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    6
    you're going to have to wait for the public release of 3.0 if DFU + Restore isnt working, or any other GUI's. next time, don't upgrade to the beta.

Share This Page